MILAN AREA SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION WORKSHOP MEETING WEDNESDAY, June 24, 2020

The workshop meeting (held virtually using Zoom) of the Milan Area Schools Board of Education was called to order by President Vershum at 7:00 p.m. on June 24, 2020.

Board Members Present: Vershum, Moccio, Cislo, Kiger, Landingham, Frait, Heikka

Board Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Bryan Girbach, Ryan McMahon, Krista Hendrix, Aaron Shinn, Sean DeSarbo, Jennifer Bookout, Jim Brousseau, Jennifer Barker, Jill Gerweck, Kristina Mahaney, Lisa Martin, Liz Miller, Penny LeBlanc, Anne Middleton, McKenzie Chappell, Dan Adams, Debbie Nichols, Annie Kiser, Miranda Laskowski, Allison Smith, Melissa Fiederlein, Kelly Smith, Jamie Schlack, Nichole Kuenzel, Clara Thiry, John Fleming, Erica Walker

Guests Present: Penny Leblanc, Yvonne Smith, Kristi Higgins, Andrew Eastman, Madelyn Cislo, Mary Hill, Grace Gyolai, Jillian Hill, Sarah Stanley, Julie Brown, John Leacher

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Heikka supported by Cislo to authorize borrowing up to \$2,250,000 against anticipated state aid for the 2020-2021 fiscal year as specified in the borrowing resolution included as Attachment A. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Motion by Cislo supported by Moccio to appoint Carolyn White as the Milan Area School's Accounts Payable Coordinator for a base salary of \$40,000 effective July 1, 2020. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Motion by Cislo supported by Landingham to lay-off two members of the Milan Education Association as proposed in Attachment C. Carried 5-0 (No votes by Frait and Heikka)

Motion by Moccio supported by Frait to approve the 2020-2021 Board Meeting Calendar as presented in Attachment D. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Superintendent Girbach provided an update regarding the 2020-2021 School Year.

- End of Year Planning
 - o Graduation
 - Read Statement
- Summer Planning
 - Summer Cleaning is on Track to be Completed by June 30
- 2020-2021 School Year
 - o MAS 2020-2021 Task Force Held Second Meeting
 - Governor Whitmer's Update on Schools
 - Face-to-Face Learning in Phase 4 of MI Safe Start Plan (strict safety measures)

- June 30 Executive Order and Michigan's Return to School Roadmap
- Nashville Plan Opportunity Lab
- Return to Learning Infographic (update and share after Governor's Plan released)
- Update from Instructional Options Workgroup
 - Learning Management System
 - Instructional Models
- o Administrators Working on Logistics of 3 Scenarios
 - Face-to-Face
 - Hybrid Model
 - All Virtual
- o Administrators / Building Leadership Teams

Superintendent's Comments:

Staff

- Chelsea Iffland (Assistant Director of Student Services) Resigned
- Thank you to everyone involved in food distribution. Especially Lon Smith and Chris Gill.

Communication

- The district currently has 1,001 Twitter followers. That is down 2 from the last meeting.
- The district currently has 2,109 Facebook followers. That is up 3 from the last meeting.

Assistant Superintendent's Comments:

• Assistant Superintendent McMahon shared that the district's application to be certified to offer teachers continuing education credits for the required annual district-provided professional development was approved by MDE.

Public Comments:

Erica Walker of 8249 W Newburg addressed the Board regarding the 2019-2020 graduation ceremony.

Mary Hill of 7340 Oakville Waltz addressed the Board regarding the 2019-2020 graduation ceremony.

Miranda Laskowski, teacher at MHS congratulated all the 2019-2020 Seniors.

Board Member Comments:

Board Member Moccio shared that she attended the Department of Treasury Webinar on Early Warning Legislation.

Board Member Heikka thanked the parents and students for attending the Board Meeting.

Board Member Landingham thanked the parents and students for attending the Board Meeting and urged the guests to call their legislatures.

Board Member Frait thanked the staff for attending the meeting.

Student Board Member Comments: None

Motion by Cislo supported by Moccio to enter into closed session as allowed by the Open Meetings Act for Negotiation Strategies. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Time entered closed session 8:06 p.m.

Time returned to open session 8:43 p.m.

Time of Adjournment: 8:45 p.m.